Vai al contenuto


Clubs pennants serie B, an overview of the most famous Italian football teams

The club was founded as Associazione Calcio Benevento in 1929, their original home was the Meomartini which was built by Ciccio Minocchia. After working their way up lower divisions in their earliest years, Benevento reached Prima Divisione, the third highest professional league at that time, in the 1934–35 season. Here it finished above clubs such as Reggina in its first season within the league. Although it did not win promotion to Serie B, the team did qualify to remain in the third tier of Italian football for the 1935–36 season, re-organized to a smaller 64-team league renamed Serie C. The company F.C. Sporting Benevento S.r.l. folded in 2005. At the same time Benevento Calcio S.p.A. was found. In the 2007–08 Serie C2 regular season the team finished first in Girone C, winning direct promotion to the now called Lega Pro Prima Divisione for the 2008–09 season. In the 2008–09 season, Benevento’s first season in Lega Pro Prima Divisione, they finished in 2nd place. This meant Benevento would be in a 2 leg play-off. They won their first 2 legged play-off, but lost to Crotone 1–0 (2–1) on aggregate in the final. After outstanding performances in 2015, Gaetano Auteri was appointed as the head manager for the 2015–16 season. In this season, Benevento won its league and reached the Serie B for the first time in its history. The mathematical certainty arrived on April 30, 2016, after defeating Lecce 3–0.